A writers group to inspire & encourage all writers
Watford Writers


Welcome to Watford Writers  

We are a friendly group of writers of all abilities. Join us and share your love of writing.

We meet every Monday, 7.30 - 9.30 pm, Oddfellows Meeting Hall, 22 The Avenue, Watford. 




Follow us on facebook  



Next Meeting

October 21st

Workshop - The Art and Craft of Short Story Writing




WAAF Writing Competition Result

Presented by Mike Callanan

Theme: Dreams


Mike Lansdown (His Year!)

2. Raffi Katz

3. Patricia Ralph

Special Award Amelia Williams ( Aged 8)


2019 Writer's Block Results

Judged by Nick Cook

Theme - Heart


First Place

Ressurection - Mike Lansdown


Second Place 

Whatever Happens in Your Heart - John Ward


Third Place

Coals to Newcastle - David Elliott


Read these stories 


2018 Harrington Competition Results 


Shortlist by Jan Moran Neil, B. Ed in Creative Writing

Final Judging Panel

Richard Harrington, MP for Watford

Peter Taylor, Mayor of Watford

Mary Meerabux, Teacher of History/Politics at Watford Girl's School


First Place

David Elliott - Deeds Not Words 

( with Jan Moran Neil ) 


Second Place

Jan Rees - Soldier Boys


Joint Third Place

Paul White - The Life and Times of Aunty Flake

Rob Summers - Bonsai



Read the judges comments and the winning and short listed stories




2018 Writer's Block Results 

February 27th at Watford Palace Theatre

 Judged by Brigid Larmour, Artistic Director  of Watford Palace Theatre

Theme: Broken Glass



1. Mike Lansdown

2. Trevor Spinage

3. Andrea Neidle

4. Helen Nicell 


Watford Area Arts Forum Literature Competition

2017 Results


1. Gary McLaren - Caution: Do not feed the animals

2. Louise Broadbent - The Quickening

3. Paul White - Harry Porter & The Philosopher's Throne


David Elliott - The Elixir of Life

Cynthia Marsh - Witchfinder

Cynthia Marsh - Wounds of the Fisher King

Shane Dempsey - White Biords

Angela Williams - Eiris

Mike Lansdown - Carnevale

Pauline Watson - Secrets

read all the stories



Recent Activities

Jack Bold Revealed

November 27th - Jackie Green and Brian Bold talk about QUOTA




Watford Big Wordfest

May 8th - Leigh Russell – Bestselling Crime Writer shares her Writing Tips


24th April – ‘An evening of poetry with Rosie Johnston and Sue Rose


10th April - An evening with Laura E James, author of ‘What Doesn’t Kill You’



 Christmas Dinner at The Essex Arms - 12th December 2016